Holiday Traditions

My wife and I always enjoy the holidays, but at times it seems like there’s something lacking.  I suppose we get caught up in the commercialization of the holidays like many other people, but I think it goes beyond that. When it’s just the two of us it can be a bit on the boring side and I think by adding another member to our family will change that.  I’m not talking about our boy being an entertainment vessel but someone that we can dote on and I suppose spoil.

I’ve already been through the Toys R’ Us Lego section and can see Lego’s in the future (loved Legos when I was a kid).  But again it’s more than the commercialization. Both of us have holiday memories that we’ve talked about and how it will be with our baby boy.  I remember at Easter, we’d have the usual egg hunt, but what I remember more than anything was the blowing bubbles we got and how the weather was.  It was usually a nice spring day (we woke up to a skiff of snow this morning!).

Since this is a holiday I’ll keep it fairly short.

What holiday traditions do you remember as a kid and what new one’s have you created with your children?

Leave a Reply

