Babies know what’s going on outside of the womb!

A friend of my wifes told us that when she was pregnant with her last child she would put headphones on her belly before she went to bed and when he was born he’d fall asleep to that music.  And I’m sure you’ve heard of people reading to their baby while they are in the womb.  We did that for awhile, but for some reason have fallen off on doing that.  And lately I’ve been saying little things to our boy when I can put my hand on my wifes belly.

Dads it sounds strange and you might be embarrassed about it, but I believe it’s a good to talk to your baby while he’s in the womb. Chances are only you and your wife are going to know about this talking so get over it. I’m not sure if it’s a good thing that he knows my angry voice, but M tells me he jumps a little when I yell at the cats for getting us up to early, but he does know my voice (I’m hoping that he will know my regular voice as well!!).  He also knows when our dog Jasper is near to M.  Jasper and M like to snuggle on the bed and Jasper is a bed hog.  There’s no other way around it.  He just is. But when he’s close to M’s belly M tells me that baby gives a few kicks for good measure.  Although I have no way of knowing it, I think Jasper knows that there is something in M’s belly as well.  I’m sure there are other things that our baby is aware of that we don’t know of just yet, but these are a few of the things we’ve observed.

So guys put your ego aside and give your baby a little encouragement or read to them each night or play music to them.  Who knows what will come from it.  As for me I have to get to work and send mom and baby off to their appointment this morning!

What did your baby recognize while they were in the womb?

Leave a Reply

