Thank goodness for insurance

I’m still around and kicking.  I haven’t keeled over from the hospital bill!  Blogger was down yesterday when I wanted to post something, which is okay because M found out about our hospital stay yesterday.

Let me first say that I’m more of a fan of insurance than I have been in the past!  I kind of freaked out this last week and got really concerned about our hospital stay.  M took the brunt of it, which I shouldn’t have done, but it just hit me at that time.

Being the great wife that she is M went into the financial office yesterday and asked about our bill.  Had it been me when the numbers were revealed I probably would have wound up in the hospital.  I won’t give exact figures here, but lets just say I’d like to make that amount in a year!  But thank goodness for M’s wonderful health insurance.  In the end we are going to only pay about $4,000 out of pocket.  If it had been my insurance, which I do have, it would have been significantly more.  Here’s a couple of other things that came out of it, that you may or may not want to hear.

We are middle class.  Because we are middle class we will have to pay the $4,000 deductible.  Had we been super rich, or high class, no big deal.  If we were low class, well then 100% of it would have been paid by the government or grant or something along those lines (M asked about this).  I’m starting to see a pattern here.  You can take this same equation for college education.  If your high class you’ve got it made and if your low class, you’ve also got it made with all the grants and such.  It almost makes you wonder if working hard and busting your ass is worth it when you stop and think about it.

I’ll get off my high horse here, but I’d be curious to see what other people think.

We are going to go and spend part of the day with baby boy! Looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

