Time Management for new dads

I would take a wild guess that most dads, like myself, don’t really think about this when their baby is on the way. Your time is really cut down to basically nothing.  Used to be able to play your video games? Well it’s gone.  Want to get outside and work that spare tire you got hanging around your belly?  Not going to happen.  Now that’s probably a slight over exaggeration, but you will find yourself with less time that you used to have.

I realized this yesterday when I had lunch.  M and baby boy we’re out to lunch with a friend and I was home alone by myself.  After taking the dog for a walk I was fixing lunch and thought “what should I do with myself?”.  I could do some writing (yes I’ve been writing…just not here!) or I could watch one of the TV shows I recorded or I could get on my computer.  In the end I decided to start watching one of the TV shows I recorded, but it didn’t stop there.  By making that decision I was missing out on possible writing time and whatever else I could have been doing.  I’m still in the process of learning when I can and can’t do things.  Luckily I can steal an hour away in the morning if all goes well, so that’s when I’ve been doing a lot of the things that I need to or want to.

Don’t get me wrong I wouldn’t change this experience for anything in the world.  It’s an incredible experience, challenging at times, but you’ll have to make these decisions when your new son or daughter is brought home.

Baby boy is doing well.  He’s gaining weight like there’s no tomorrow, which in turn is making M a bit tired at times, but she’s an incredible mom and I keep encouraging her.

Have a great weekend everyone.  I have a plan for another post and hope to post that up this weekend sometime.

Leave a Reply

