More work…or less work?

Earlier this week I received a phone call from a fellow worker wondering if I could set them up with remote access when they were on vacation.  I paused and laughed a little bit.  They asked why I was laughing.  My response was “you’re going on vacation…take a vacation…don’t work.  They’ll figure it out if you’re not there.”.  I haven’t seen them yet to setup their computer for remote access, so I’m hoping my comment hit home and they are taking their vacation sans any work responsibilities.

I think all of us would agree that less work is better.  But on the flip side how much less work is a detriment to your business or livelihood?  Most of us can’t take a vacation whenever the hell we please because of money issues, but there are those that can due to their position or financial abilities.

Last couple of thoughts here. What if the work week was 5 days at 6 hours each?  What would happen then?  Would we be less stressed and need less ‘vacation’ time?  Would things not get done?  I’d argue that in may cases, for brick and mortar shops (perhaps internet shops as well) that 6 hours is plenty and for the last two hours people are just filling time. Their brain is fried and tired after 6 hours and people are doing all they can to collect those 8 hours.

Thoughts?

This post, More work…or less work, is day 1 in what I hope to be 30 straight days of blogging here. A wide variety of topics will be covered.

Leave a Reply

