Could you live a homestead lifestyle?

Over the last few months we’ve been watching a lot of “Alaska: The Last Frontier” and it’s spurred some of my thoughts about life and living.

When I was growing up I was always fascinated with mountain men and the various different heroic (if you want to call it that) things they did.  I went on a road trip with a pastor friend of ours that was pretty knowledgeable about the topic as well. We made our way to the Battle of the Little Bighorn, down into Wyoming for the site of Fettermans massacre and over to Red Lodge Montana to see the supposed cabin of the mountain man that Jeremiah Johnson was built upon.  It was quite the trip we fit into the weekend plus a day or two.

Over the years I’ve lost touch with that historical information, but at times I’ve longed for a much simpler life and watching Alaska: The Last Frontier has somewhat ignited those thoughts again.  After we got done watching an episode last night I wondered: Could I give up all that I know and go and be a homesteader of sorts?  At this point I can’t really say if I could.  And it would be WAY to easy to head into town to get a burger and fries (what the Kilcher’s can do as well…shooting a bear is not a life and death ordeal like the TV producers want you to think).  But how about money to buy the tractors or the various other things that are needed.  How do you purchase those when your ‘job’ is making sure you’re ready for winter and getting food to feed the family?  We haven’t quite figured out how the Kilchers are able to do it (maybe Jewel gives them some money?!?!?!).

I’m not sure of the answer to all of these questions.  Perhaps growing our own food will help with this desire.  Maybe fishing for some food or shooting a deer will help as well.  I’m not sure, but I suspect that we aren’t the only one’s that have a hankering for a much simpler lifestyle and wonder what exactly it would take to have that type of lifestyle.

This post, Could you live a homestead lifestyle, is day 4 in what I hope to be 30 straight days of blogging here. A wide variety of topics will be covered. 

Leave a Reply

