Less Complex (simple!)

I deal with a lot of various different pieces of software for the job that pays the bills.  It’s exciting at times, but other times it can be frustrating because you’re looking for that one command to change one little thing and you just can’t find it because it’s buried underneath a lot of different things that you don’t need at that time.

This dilemma got me to thinking awhile back.  Did we really need all of these ‘extra’ things in order to run the business? I’d venture out and say that 90% of these ‘abilities’ built into these programs are not needed or even used.  So why put them there?  Well I think it’s because the customers ask and a company can’t tell their customer no can they?  I think they can if they provide and alternative solution that doesn’t require a ton of extra steps. By simplifying I’d estimate that we could cut down on a lot of expenses and errors.  Would it be perfect?  Probably not out of the box but over time I think it would work for what we needed it to do.  And before you say this is because I work in a brick and mortar company I’d tell you I’ve seen the same thing in internet and software companies.

On the flip side, having never been a business owner, maybe I would be able to say ‘no’ to a customer request.  I think there’s a time to say ‘yes’ and a time to say ‘no’.

This post, Less Complex (simple), is day 5 in what I hope to be 30 straight days of blogging here. A wide variety of topics will be covered. 

Leave a Reply

